​Gaming giants, EA Sports on Monday announced the ​FIFA 20 Team of the Year with the usual suspects in ​Barcelona talisman, Lionel Messi, ​Liverpool’s Sadio Mane and Paris Saint-Germain starlet, Kylian Mbappe making the cut.

However, there was one major omission with Piemonte Calcio (Juventus) superstar, Cristiano Ronaldo not making the team, with even superstars like Eden Hazard and Sergio Ramos from ​Real Madrid and Mohamed Salah from Liverpool failing to make the cut.

The Reds have the most number of players in the first XI with five of their players making the cut, while two Barcelona stars find themselves in the team. Other teams, namely ​Chelsea​Manchester City, Piemonte Calcio and Paris Saint Germain have one player each in the FIFA 20 Team of the Year.

Another surprise is that not one Madrid player made the team, which just goes to show how their fortunes have fallen in the past year or so. Usually, the Los Blancos always had more than one representative in the XI and the players will themselves know that they have been below par off late.

The FIFA 20 Team of the Year:

Goalkeeper: Alisson Becker (Brazil, Liverpool).

Full-backs: Andrew Robertson (Scotland, Liverpool), Trent Alexander-Arnold (England, Liverpool).

Centre-backs: Virgil van Dijk (The Netherlands, Liverpool), Matthijs de Ligt (The Netherlands, Piemonte Calcio).

Midfielders: Frenkie de Jong (The Netherlands, Barcelona), N’Golo Kante (France, Chelsea), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium, Manchester City).

Wingers: Sadio Mane (Senegal, Liverpool), Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona).

Striker: Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris Saint Germain).

Note: EA Sports does not have the license to use Juventus’ original name in FIFA 20, hence the club have been rebranded as Piemonte Calcio.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here