One of the keys to winning league titles is to make your home stadium a fortress. 

Remaining unbeaten for 19 home games every season is incredibly challenging and has only been completed by a handful of clubs during the Premier Leagues existence.

Here are the six teams who have finished one or more Premier League seasons unbeaten at home.   

6. Manchester City – 2011/12

Manchester City's Belgian captain Vincen

2011/12 was the season that Manchester City turned Manchester blue. City became the fifth team to win the Premier League title and they won it in remarkable fashion.

Man City overcame their neighbouring rivals Manchester United to win the title on goal difference after a dramatic 3-2 victory over Queens Park Rangers on the final day of the season. This victory also gave City a full season unbeaten at home. Only Sunderland managed to leave the Etihad with a point that season, as they won an incredible 18 out of 19 home fixtures.  

5. Tottenham – 2016/17

Tottenham Hotspur v Arsenal

2016/17 was Tottenham’s farewell season to White Hart Lane. Spurs finished second in the league and ended their stay at White Hart Lane unbeaten at home.

Spurs drew two of their opening five games of the season before going on to the win their remaining 14 league home matches of the season as they said goodbye to their historic stadium. 

The side also won all home cup competitions that were played White Hart Lane that year.

4. Liverpool – 2008/09 & 2017/18

Fernando Torres

Liverpool have remained unbeaten at home twice during the Premier League’s existence but never lifted the title.

In 2008/09 Steven Gerrard scored 16 league goals as Liverpool finished in second place with only two defeats that season. The Reds won 12 and drew seven of their 19 league home games that year to finish unbeaten at Anfield.

Last year Liverpool memorably reached the UEFA Champions League final losing out to Real Madrid and finished the league season again unbeaten at home. Their home record was exactly the same as the 2008/09 season winning 12 out 19 and drawing seven games at Anfield. Their only loss at home that season was a 3-2 defeat to West Bromwich Albion in the FA Cup. 

3. Arsenal – 1998/99, 2003/04 & 2007/08

Arsenal celebrates winning the Premiersh

Arsenal have finished three premier league seasons without losing a game at home. Twice at the old Highbury stadium and once at the Emirates.

The most famous season in Arsenal’s history is their invincible winning season of 2003/04. Not only did they remain unbeaten at home, they remained unbeaten for the entire season, home and away. Arsenal won 26 games and drew 12 on their way to the invincible title. The team boasted player like Denis Bergkamp, Thierry Henry and Robert Pires. Their incredible form that season helped them win 15 out 19 home league games, drawing the other four.

In 2007/08 the Gunners beat their own record as they remained unbeaten at home for the first time at the Emirates during their second season. They scored 43 of their 63 goals that season at home.  

2. Manchester United – 1995/96, 1999/2000 & 2010/11

Manchester United supporters welcome a b

Manchester United are joint second with Arsenal as they have also finished three seasons unbeaten at home since the Premier League began back in 1992.

The Red Devils became the first team to finish a Premier League season unbeaten at home during 1995/96. United drew four of their 19 home games as they won the Premier League for the third time in four years. York City were the only team able to beat Manchester United at home that season in a 3-0 League Cup victory.

The treble-winning season in 1998/99 was a tough act to follow for Manchester United. Not only did they retain the title in 1999/00 they finished that season unbeaten. Although the year before will be remembered more fondly 15 wins and four draws at home is a remarkable way to finish any season.

During Sir Alex Ferguson’s second last title-winning season in 2010/11, only West Brom left Old Trafford with a point. Dimitar Berbatov scored 20 league goals as United won their 19th League title.  

1. Chelsea – 2004/05, 2005/06, 2006/07, 2007/08 & 2014/15

John Terry,Joe Cole

Chelsea are top of the table when it comes to finishing a league season at home unbeaten. The Blues have finished five seasons unbeaten at Stamford Bridge, three of which ended in title celebrations.

2004/05 title winning season was Chelsea’s first league title in exactly 50 years. Jose Mourinho brought winning ways to Chelsea during his first season at the London club. Chelsea drew 5 home games that season and won the other 14.

The next three years Mourinho’s side continued to be unbeaten at home in the league. Jose Mourinho was also sacked during this time and left his first spell in charge of the club without losing a home Premier League game. On 26 October 2008 Chelsea lost their first home league game 1-0 to Liverpool since their last defeat four years prior.

Chelsea’s last season undefeated at home was in 2014/15. This was Jose Mourinho’s first title since re-joining the club. The blues had 4 draws and 15 wins as they won the Premier League by eight points.  


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here